Mount Rushmore National Memorial, SD

Mt Rushmore National Memorial is located in the Black Hills of South Dakota near Keystone, SD. It is a huge sculpture of Presidents Washington, Jefferson, Roosevelt (Theodore) and Lincoln. The sculpture was conceived by Gutzon Borglum and declared completed shortly after his death in 1941. Although the sculpture never included all the details envisioned by the artist, the faces were all completed prior to his death. A new visitor center, viewing amphitheater and walking trail were added in the 1980s and 1990s.

© Karen Bell 2012